The Book of Awesome

July 31, 2010 § Leave a comment

Recently I completed The Book of Awesome. A book comprised of short stories/observations taken from a web site that author Neil Pasricha created — 1000awesomethings.com.

I knew it would be a quick read, so I tackled it before starting my list of more business focused books. After reading it I wasn’t sure about posting a review. For me, it’s a book that I will always have around; to pick up and refer to for a smile down the road.

However when completing, I learned the sad news that someone I had worked with and admired passed away after a long battle with cancer. Right away I recalled the entry by Neil titled; Smiling and thinking of good friends who are gone. A description that for sure captures my thoughts of Mike Brown.

I had the great fortune to work with Mike over the last 5 years. The last 3 years specifically growing WG Authentic via Wayne Gretzky’s official web site; Gretzky.com. Mike was someone I always looked to for advice or bounced ideas off of in many situations.

My best memory of Mike though will be from Wayne Gretzky’s 2010 Fantasy Camp — an event Mike organized each year. I stood with Mike during one of the games as he watched his son play in the tournament.

With Mike’s health in decline, it was moving to see how much he took in that game and how he enjoyed nothing more than seeing his son skate on the ice. Something that I will always remember as I begin to watch my kids grow and participate in many different things.

Being able to work closely with Mike Brown. AWESOME!

For more on The Book of Awesome:

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Book of Awesome at Craig Johnson.

meta

